Avon High School
Parent Teacher Organization

Avon High School PTO Purpose and Goals
The purpose of the Avon High School Parent Teacher Organization ("PTO") is to work with the faculty and staff of the high school to enhance the experience of AHS students, with a focus on providing educational programs of quality and facilitating involvement and communication for parents/guardians. The organization strives:ยท
  • To encourage an exchange of ideas and information among educators, parents/guardians, and children through volunteer efforts on committees, publications, and projects. 
  • To sponsor general meetings and activities during the year in order to promote interest and awareness of the curriculum, physical plant, staff, and community. 
  • To raise funds and provide programs, services, and equipment (not covered by the Board of Education budget), to aid in the educational process.
The organization is administered by an executive committee, but all of its meetings are open and are a good place to bring an issue for discussion or a suggestion for improvement.  The participation and attendance of all parents/guardians at regular meetings as well as the various forums sponsored by the organization are highly encouraged.  Membership in the organization includes all parents/guardians of AHS students and all AHS teaching, administrative, and staff members.  Dues of $20/year are collected on a voluntary basis.

General Meetings
  • The PTO usually meets about 6 times per year in the Community Room at AHS. 
  • Meetings for the 2013-14 school year are as follows:

    • Sept. 12th (Thurs.) at 6:00 pm - meet the new principal and hear updates on changes
    • Oct. 21st (Mon.) 7:00 pm โ€“ anticipated guest speaker from the Guidance Department
    • Nov. 18th (Mon.) 7:45 am - vote on teacher and club disbursement, update on NEASC results
    • Jan. โ€“ date and time TBA โ€“ joint PTO budget meeting
    • March 17th (Mon.) at 7:45 am
    • May 19th (Mon.) at 7:00 pm - election of new PTO executive board and vote on PTO budget

Click Here for


Executive Board
Co-Presidents Vice-President Treasurer Secretary

Laura Young

Nancy Kostal

Susan Rietano Davey


Susan Davies

Rebecca Sahl